Connecticut, US

Jan 17 2017

New Consular Visa Exemption Eliminates Exemption for EU and Schengen Visa Holders



A new decree replaces the current Consular Visa exemption with a new one only for those holding a valid Australian, Canadian, UK or U.S. multiple-entry visa valid for at least one year from the date of entry and used at least once, for stays up to 30 days initially, renewable twice for 30 days each stay through an in-country process. The previous exemption, allowing EU or Schengen country visa holders to qualify for the exemption as well, has been eliminated.

EU and Schengen visa holders currently in Panama can remain until their visa exemption expires.

The decree applies only to visa nationals who use one of these visas to enter Panama without a Panamanian entry visa, and does not apply to visa-exempt nationals.

What This Means for Employers and Foreign Nationals

Foreign nationals affected by the decree should contact their immigration professional to discuss the amended entry rules.

This alert is for informational purposes only. If you have any questions, please contact the global immigration professional with whom you work at Fragomen or send an email to

© 2017 Fragomen, Del Rey, Bernsen & Loewy, LLP, Fragomen Global LLP and affiliates. All Rights Reserved.