Jun 08 2017

Comoros, Djibouti, Mauritius and Senegal Sever Diplomatic Ties with Qatar

Mauritius, Qatar, Senegal

Governments of Comoros, Djibouti, Mauritius and Senegal have joined a number of Middle Eastern and other countries in severing their diplomatic ties with Qatar.  The closure of borders with neighboring countries and the withdrawal of the diplomatic staff from various embassies in the region have resulted in restrictions on travel to and from Qatar.

The countries that have severed diplomatic ties with Qatar so far are as follows:  Bahrain, Comoros, Djibouti, Egypt, Jordan, Libya, Maldives, Mauritania, Mauritius, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, the United Arab Emirates and Yemen. 

What This Means for Employers and Foreign Nationals

Considering the nature of this situation, many aspects related to entry, residency and transit remain either unclear or subject to change without prior notice.

Fragomen can help identify impacted nationals and advise on potential restrictions applicable to them.

Fragomen will continue to monitor the developments and will provide further updates as new information is released.

This alert is for informational purposes only. If you have any questions, please contact the global immigration professional with whom you work at Fragomen or send an email to