Virginia, US

May 18 2016

Exemptions for Visa Nationals Expanded



A new law exempts visa nationals with a Canadian, Japanese, Schengen or UK visa from business, tourist and transit visa requirements for up to 180 days, effective immediately. This policy expands the current exemption available to visa nationals who hold a U.S. visa. 

Additionally, visa nationals who are permanent residents of Chile, Colombia or Peru will be exempt from business, tourist and transit visa requirements for up to 180 days on or after July 1, 2016. The current exemption is available to visa nationals with permanent residence in Canada, Japan, the United Kingdom, the United States or the Schengen Area countries.

APEC Business Travel Card (ABTC) holders, certain airplane crew members and certain Seaman’s Book holders remain eligible for this exemption.

Visa-exempt business, tourism or transit travelers can still enter Mexico with a valid passport using the Multiple Use Immigration Form (FMM) Form.

What This Means for Foreign Nationals

Visa nationals who hold a Canadian, Japanese, Schengen or UK visa, or permanent residence in Chile, Colombia or Peru should benefit from the expanded visa exemption policy.

Travelers should expect inconsistent applications of this new rule during the first few weeks of implementation, especially in low-volume entry ports.

Nationals staying for over 180 days or planning to work in Mexico are not eligible for this exemption and should contact their immigration professional to discuss work authorization options.

This alert is for informational purposes only. If you have any questions, please contact the global immigration professional with whom you work at Fragomen or send an email to [email protected].

© 2016 Fragomen